Zagreb Philarmonic Orchestra



Zagreb, the second city in modern Yugoslavia, occupies an important place in the musical life of the country. The Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra was established in 1920, inheriting the symphonic traditions of its predecessor, the orchestra of the opera-house. Since then it has won a national and international reputation, appearing in major cities throughout Eastern and Western Europe and the United States of America.

During the course of its existence the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra has worked with the most distinguished conductors, including Bruno Walter, Clemens Krauss, Felix Weingartner, Rafael Kubelik, Leopold Stokowski, Sir Malcolm Sargent, Igor Markevich, Kyril Kondrashin, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Stanislav Skrowaczewsky, Zubin Mehta, Paul Kletzki, Otmar Suitner, Jean Martinon, Vaclav Neumann and Sir John Barbirolli. The orchestra also has given concerts under the direction of Igor Stravinsky, Aaron Copland and Lukas Foss. Since 1980 Pavel Despalj has been principal conductor and artistic director of the orchestra.

Show more...